DUI

DUI Lawyer in Chesapeake, Virginia

Call (800) 301-3552 for Tough Defense in Suffolk

A DUI charge is a serious threat to your reputation, career, and freedom. If you have any prior drunk driving convictions, you could even face the permanent loss of your driver's license. Your legal opponent, the prosecutor, has the backing of the government's resources. Against these odds, you need an aggressive, skilled, and resolute defense lawyer. At J. Bouchard Law, you can find a legal advocate with the grit and talent you need.

Why choose our Chesapeake DUI attorney?

  • Knowledgeable advocacy of a former prosecutor
  • Notable experience handling jury trials
  • Proven track record that includes high-profile cases

When your future is on the line, you can depend on our DUI defense firm. We understand what is at stake for you. We are ready to attack the prosecutor's case with dynamic advocacy, utilizing our full resources and quality experience to thoroughly investigate your case and craft a compelling defense to ensure your rights are protected. Don't hesitate to learn more about beating your DUI charge: Contact us today.

Set up your free case evaluation today to begin your defense!

DUI Penalties in Virginia

Understand the stakes. Discover your potential defenses.

Even if this is your first ever arrest for drunk driving, you could lose your driver's license for one year, pay anywhere from $250 to $2,500 in fines, and be sentenced to community service. The same can apply to an underage DUI charge. If a child was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, or if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.15% or more, you also face mandatory minimum jail time, at least 5 days' incarceration.

If you have any prior arrests or convictions for DUI, you could be staring down even stiffer penalties. For a second DUI offense, you could face a minimum $500 fine, 3 years of driver's license suspension, up to 1 year in jail, and ignition interlock device installation. For a third DUI conviction within 10 years, you would face a minimum $1,000 fine, mandatory minimum of 6 months in jail, and an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP), and your Virginia driver's license could be revoked indefinitely.

In light of these serious penalties, what are some possible DUI defenses?

  • The arresting officer had no valid reason to pull you over
  • The officer lacked probable cause for the arrest
  • Field sobriety tests were improperly given / inaccurate
  • Breath, blood, or urine test results were faulty

Similar defenses could save your license from suspension in your DMV hearing. Any violation of your rights, any errors in the legal process could topple the prosecutor's case against you. Whether you need to keep your driver's license or shield your rights in court, our Chesapeake criminal defense attorney knows how to cut through the prosecution's case, proactively defending your future. Don't hesitate--call J. Bouchard Law today to see what other defenses could apply to your case!

What happens if I refuse a chemical DUI test?

You will automatically lose your driver's license. And a prosecutor can still convict you of driving under the influence, even portraying your refusal as a sign of guilt.

You are well within your rights to refuse a field sobriety test; however, when it comes to chemical tests (such as breath and blood tests), Virginia's implied consent law says that your license will be suspended for at least one year upon refusal.

If you refuse these tests a second or third time within ten years, your license could be suspended for three years. These penalties would still be in effect even if you are acquitted of a DUI charge—unless you can fight the suspension in a DMV hearing.

Request Your Free DUI Case Review

Get Started on Your Defense When You Call (800) 301-3552

From saving your license to defeating your DUI charge, you can find the comprehensive defense you need at J. Bouchard Law. Our former prosecutor can provide the resilient advocacy you need to work toward clearing your name and restoring your liberties.

Contact us for your free evaluation today! Our Chesapeake DUI lawyer proudly serves clients in Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Williamsburg, and Virginia Beach.

Contact Our Office

Have you been arrested? Tell us your side of the story! Contact us now for a free case evaluation.